This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Sophomore Research - Campbell" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sophomore Research - Campbell  

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2013 URL: http://newtrier.libguides.com/content.php?pid=317131 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview from Mr. Campbell

New (2/14): Please Read PROJECT OVERVIEW

 

Catalog Search Winnetka Campus

Type a keyword, title or author in the search box:

Use the New Trier Catalog to find books and videos.

Visit Local Libraries and explore their collections, too.

Check for relevant eBooks in Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).  The eBooks contain digitized versions of many reference books. Use advanced search and multiple keywords.  You can easily login from home -- just use your ID number and password to get on the network.

 

Steps

 

NoodleTools

Create your account in NoodleTools at school.
Use MLA JUNIOR for your bibliography

After you have created a list for this project,
SHARE IT ONCE with class name:
Campbell Soph6 (spacing is key).

See Mr. Campbell or Ms. Straube if you have questions.

Guide created by L. Straube with input from S. Campbell

 
 

Magazine & Newspaper articles

Finding periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals)
in Subscription Databases
- use keywords in an Advanced search:

New Trier Databases -- look for a database related to your topic or ask for help.


eLibrary
   - also includes pictures, Maps, Radio and TV Transcripts or
eLibraryScience

General Reference Center Gold - magazines, newspapers, some video

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

Global Issues in Context - current events 

Lexis-Nexis (Scholastic)  - newspapers, including full-text The New York Times - plus transcripts of interviews, especially from National Public radio (NPR)

ProQuest - Articles from a vareity of newspapers & magazines - good start for general topic

Salem Press Health- ebook collection

Salem Press History  - ebook collection good for later than 1930's

Science in Context from Gale

SIRS Researcher - for controversial topics

U.S. History in Context

 

Gale Biography in Context

 

General Background

As you begin to explore your theme, you may find general background information and generate keywords by looking at:

If you wish, use these to get started, but these resources should NOT appear in your bibliography.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip