YOUR INPUT NEEDED
We need your input: IMPORTANT:
Answer this Google Forms survey
BY 8AM on Thursday, Feb. 14
Steps
Follow these steps - see us with Questions





*********

*********

See us if you still have Questions
Resources
Senior Writers' Seminar:
Evaluating Sources for Annotated Bibliography
1. Getting Started - see our list OR click on Global Issues in Context
Explore a category and choose a topic of interest
Brainstorm some keywords to use for future searching; list 8 to 10 in your document
- Skim entries on your topic in general encyclopedias like Britannica, Wikipedia, & World Book
- See the Keywords Tab or Hints for Developing Keywords for more general ideas, if needed
- See University of Colorado at Boulder's tutorial for more explanation
2a. Locate Books about Your Topic
- Use the New Trier Library Catalog to search for books about your topic
- Possibly check with Local Libraries
- Record at least ONE title/author (and call number) in your document
2b. Locate eBooks or Reference Articles about Your Question
- Look for e-books especially in Gale Virtual Ref Library
- Or possibly in Salem Press History or Salem Press Health or Salem Press Science
- Use keywords to narrow and refine your search
- Print at least ONE article and show it to us
- Read and annotate for homework
3. Finding Periodical Articles Related to Your Topic -- (newspapers, magazines & scholarly journals)
Search appropriate subscription databases (main database page) for your topic:
- Newspapers, Journals and Magazines: ProQuest OR Lexis-Nexis OR eLibrary
- For Scholarly Journals, check "Peer Reviewed" box in ProQuest, or try JSTOR
- Controversial Issues: Opposing Viewpoints OR SIRS OR CQ Researcher
Investigate web sites for more established media, for example:
- New York Times' Times Topics -- highly recommended
- NPR -- National Public Radio for links to News, NPR Archives, and Programs, including "Talk of the Nation"
- PBS (Public Broadcasting Service)
- Time or Newsweek are in our databases and have their own sites
Keep re-searching and refer back to the list of keywords that you developed.
4. Review Your Progress with Mr. Berliant or Ms. Straube
We will have specific suggestions to help you research.
In preparation, ask yourself:
- Do I have a variety of types of sources?
- Have I narrowed my topic sufficiently for this assignment?
- Will I be able to argue convincingly? Or do I need more information?
5. Free Web Site Suggestions and Other Sources -- use your KEYWORDS
Look at organizations related to your topic, for example:
- Professional Organizations or official sites for sports teams
- New Trier Civic Engagement Project – links on local issues and politics
- Need statistics? check government sites, too.
Consider watching a documentary related to your topic
- Internet Movie Database or
- New Trier's Library Catalog may have ideas
Use Google Advanced Search and Be sure to evaluate your sources carefully
- "It's Online; Is it On Target?" article with more tips from College Board
6. Find and include an example of "alternative" media:
For example, choose statistics/graph, map, DVD or video clip, song lyrics or poem, Ted Talk, primary source, etc. See us with questions.
7. Help for Your Bibliography: NoodleTools
ASK us if you have questions!
See Ms. Straube if you have forgotten your NoodleTools password.
Use MLA ADVANCED format.
Here is a link to a video tutorial.
8. Reflect on Your Research Experience
What sources were most helpful?
Whay would you do differently?
*********
Still Looking for Ideas?
TIPS:
For more ideas, glance through some of the magazines and newspapers in Room A.
Check the "Need a Topic" libguide from Rice Library (University of Southern Indiana).
Brainstorm with your teacher and librarian.
Created by
Last Modified February 2013
by L. Straube with input from E. Berliant




Loading...
